Hosta of the Year 1996 - 2021

          The first hosta society was formed in America in 1968, simply known as the American Hosta Society.         

          The formation of the British Hosta And Hemerocallis Society followed in 1982.

         There is a large interest in hostas in the Netherlands, the Dutch Hosta Society was formed in 1989.

         The American Hosta Growers Association was also formed during the mid 1990’s. This organisation operates separately to the American Hosta Society. From 1996 the growers association has named a ‘Hosta of the year’.

           Listed below is the full list from 1996 to date. Any variety highlighted in bold text can be purchased from North Staffordshire Hostas.

1996: So Sweet

1997: Patriot

1998: Fragrant Bouquet

1999: Paul’s Glory

2000: Sagae

2001: June

2002: Gaucamole

2003: Regal Splendor

2004: Sum and Substance

2005: Striptease

2006: Stained Glass

2007: Paradigm

2008: Blue Mouse Ears

2009: Earth Angel

2010: First Frost

2011: Praying Hands

2012: Liberty

2013: Rainforest Sunrise

2014: Abiqua Drinking Gourd

2015: Victory

2016: Curly Fries

2017: Brother Stefan

2018: World Cup

2019: Lakeside Paisley Print

2020: Dancing Queen

2021: Rainbow's End